Dispute Resolution requires Strategy

Dispute Resolution and Legal Representation

When commercial collaborations do not develop as expected, when IP or other property rights are being infringed, or when responsibilities within organizations need to be established, we promptly and competently help clients to preserve their rights and to defend against unjustified claims.
We regularly represent parties as counsel before courts and tribunals in civil and commercial disputes, and handle cases under all major arbitration rules (Swiss Rules, ICC, LCIA, HKIAC, SIAC, Vienna Rules, DIS, WIPO, etc.). We also act as arbitrators and mediators, and serve as experts, on both legal issues and technical matters. Additionally, we regularly assist companies and private individuals in white collar crime investigations, for example in cases involving allegations of fraud, corruption, export control or sanctions violations, as well as in cases of cybercrime.

Our approach to resolving disputes is characterized by the close collaboration of experienced dispute resolution practitioners, patent lawyers and technology experts. We are not only familiar with the legal rules and practices of the courts and authorities deciding cases, but very quickly get up to speed on the technical questions underlying a dispute. More importantly still, we are aware that disputes take up substantial time and resources, and that the outcome ultimately reached through formal proceedings does not always correspond to the parties’ expectations and interests. As part of our advice, we, therefore, always explore strategic options and potential alternatives to proceedings, whether through negotiations, mediation or otherwise.

Recent cases from our practice:

  • We acted for the seller in a post-M&A dispute relating to the sale of production facilities to the US.
  • We represented clients in patent infringement and patent nullity suits relating to medical technology, electrical engineering, software patent and injection moulding.
  • We represented a pharma company in a dispute with a supplier of clinical material.
  • We acted as lead counsel for a biotech company in a cross-border licensing dispute, also advising on coordination with parallel criminal proceedings, impact on the relationship with a sub-licensee and settlement opportunities.
  • We assisted a medtech company with its response strategy to criminal charges against former business partners, conducting an internal investigation and advising on interactions with law enforcement agencies in several countries, as well as on related litigation risks.
  • We defended a private individual against alleged director liability claims.
  • We assisted a leading beverages company with the assessment and enforcement of liability claims against a supplier of additives.
  • We accompanied a bank employee in a criminal investigation concerning cybercrime.
  • We defended a foreign state in attachment and litigation proceedings in relation to property located in Switzerland.

News

16.08.2019
Publication of Anne-Catherine Hahn on international arbitration
Bribery Allegations in Arbitration Proceedings – 10th edition of The International Arbitration Review »
17.06.2019
Media release of the Swiss Federal Council of 14 June 2019: Patent boxes will be available in Switzerland as of 2020
Summary information on the new Swiss Act on Patent Boxes »

Dispute Resolution requires Strategy

Streitbeilegung

Wenn sich Geschäftsprojekte nicht wie erhofft entwickeln, wenn Immaterialgüterrechte oder andere Vermögenswerte verletzt werden, oder wenn Verantwortlichkeiten im unternehmerischen Umfeld aufgearbeitet werden müssen, unterstützen wir Klienten rasch und zuverlässig bei der Durchsetzung ihrer Rechte und bei der Abwehr unbegründeter Ansprüche.

Gestützt auf unsere breite und langjährige Erfahrung in komplexen Streitfällen begleiten wir Klienten als Parteivertreter vor staatlichen Gerichten und in Schiedsverfahren nach allen führenden Regeln (Swiss Rules, ICC, LCIA, HKIAC, SIAC, Vienna Rules, DIS, WIPO, etc.). Wir stehen auch als Schiedsrichter und Gutachter zur Verfügung – für Rechtsfragen und, dank der engen Zusammenarbeit mit Patentanwälten und Technologieexperten, namentlich auch für technische Fragen. Daneben begleiten wir Unternehmen und Privatpersonen in wirtschaftsstrafrechtlichen Untersuchungen und der Aufarbeitung von Compliance-Verstössen, z.B. im Zusammenhang mit Betrugsdelikten, Korruptionsvorwürfen, Exportkontroll- und Sanktionsvorschriften und in Fällen von Cyberkriminalität.

Unsere Praxis zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass erfahrene Prozessrechtsanwälte und Technologieexperten Hand in Hand zusammenarbeiten. Dadurch sind wir nicht nur mit den verfahrensrechtlichen Fragen und Abläufen der zuständigen Gerichte und Behörden vertraut, sondern können uns auch sehr schnell in technische Sachverhalte einarbeiten. Vor allem aber ist uns bewusst, dass strittige Auseinandersetzungen für die Beteiligten mit erheblichem Aufwand verbunden sind und unter Umständen längerdauernde Verfahren erfordern. Teil unserer Beratung sind daher immer auch die Prüfung strategischer Optionen und alternativer Streitbeilegungsformen.

Beispiele aus unserer Praxis:

  • Parteivertretung in einem M&A-Schiedsverfahren betreffend den Verkauf eines Industriebetriebs in den USA.
  • Parteivertretung in Patentverletzungs- und Patentnichtigkeitsklagen (Medizintechnik, Elektrotechnik, Softwarepatent, Kunststoffspritzguss).
  • Vertretung eines Pharma-Unternehmens in einer Auseinandersetzung mit dem Lieferanten klinischen Materials.
  • Beratung und Vertretung eines Biotech-Unternehmens in einem komplexen Lizenzstreit; Koordination von grenzüberschreitenden Gerichts-, Schieds- und Strafverfahren; Unterstützung von Verhandlungen mit Unter-Lizenznehmern.
  • Unterstützung eines Medizinaltechnik-Unternehmens hinsichtlich der Aufarbeitung von strafrechtlichen Vorwürfen im Zusammenhang mit einem früheren Geschäftspartner; Durchführung einer internen Untersuchung; Abklärung von Haftungsrisiken im In- und Ausland und Beratung hinsichtlich der Kommunikation mit den zuständigen Behörden.
  • Abwehr von Verantwortlichkeitsansprüchen gegen eine Organperson. 
  • Unterstützung eines führenden Getränkeherstellers bei der Abklärung und Durchsetzung von Haftungsansprüchen gegen einen Lieferanten von Zusatzstoffen.
  • Begleitung eines Bankmitarbeiters in einem Strafverfahren betreffend Cyberkriminalität.
  • Vertretung eines ausländischen Staats in Arrest- und Gerichtsverfahren im Zusammenhang mit in der Schweiz gehaltenen Vermögenswerten.



News

16.08.2019
Publikation von Anne-Catherine Hahn zu Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit
Bribery Allegations in Arbitration Proceedings – 10th edition of The International Arbitration Review »
17.06.2019
Medienmitteilung des Bundesrats vom 14. Juni 2019: Patentboxen werden in der Schweiz ab 2020 möglich sein
Kurzinformation zum neuen Bundesgesetz (STAF) betreffend Patentboxen »